The Annual Southwest Playwriting Competition

The 8th Annual Southwest Playwriting Competition is pleased to announce the winners for this year's competition: 

Clutter (First Place)
by Jesse David Johnson
New Play Festival presentation: January 24, 2015 – 7:30pm  

After the death of his grandmother, a young man returns to his family home to find that his aging parents and handicapped brother have moved grandma’s belongings into their home, adding to their already cluttered existence. While trying to help them clear away the years of accumulated junk, he makes a shocking discovery about grandma.

Poor Sports (Second Place)
by Kyle John Schmidt
New Play Festival presentation: January 23, 2015 – 7:30pm

When Rachelle takes Mandy’s position on the high school softball team, their alcoholic mothers face off in a brutal war of blackmail, backbiting, and binge drinking.  But when the girls unexpectedly quit the team, their mothers find they’re not ready to move on. Poor Sports is a gritty look at small-town momsfinding life after losing the game.

The Last Night in Popbelly (Third Place)
by Margaret Miller
New Play Festival presentation: January 22, 2015 – 7:30pm

This bizarre story takes place in tiny Popbelly, Texas.  Population 38.  It’s a stormy night and the inhabitants of Popbelly are struggling with the past and the desolate future while getting drunk, shooting rifles and stumbling across hidden family secrets.

Honorable Mention:
by John Zygmunt

All playwrights had to have at least 2 years of ties to Texas, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Arkansas or Louisiana.  Plays can not have had a professional production prior to the April 2014 submission deadline.   The competition uses a method in which the readers do not know the names of the playwrights before the final results are announced.  

The top three will be shared with the public during the 2015 New Play Readings Festival:

Our three-day festival features Stage West’s top picks for new, unproduced plays submitted to our annual Southwest Playwriting Competition.  It features favorite local actors and directors as well as talk-backs with the playwrights after each performance. 

Entries for the 9th Playwriting Competition will be accepted from January 1, 2015 to April 15, 2015.